Windows Ultra Budget Build (Upgradable)

Achilles90

Howdy all!

I have been working on putting together an ultra-budget frankenbuild with the potential to upgrade down the road

I have never built a computer before... ever

I have only the faintest understanding of these things

I feel like I'm trying to build my own car XD

But for some reason I feel like this should be easy (or at least possible)

All I do, more or less, is word process, watch cat videos, and play ET.

What I need:

Something that works, is upgradable, and beats what I have.

Currently on a toshiba laptop

8 core (I believe) i7 processor 3630QM (whatever that means)

Rated at 2.4 GHz

8 GB ram

Intel HD 4000 graphics (I believe)

Windows 8

Activated 11/27/2012 (apparently)

In 2012 this thing was awesome (for me)

I'd like to move a couple years closer to today

What I have:

3 different old graphics cards, 1 must work and beat what I have today

2 different cases, both ATX

cd/dvd drive (Is this even useful?)

5+ fans of assorted sizes and rgbs

old power supply (seems to fit my specs)**

mice, keyboards, pos little tv screen

**The power supply is old and seems to be rated as trash. Brand new it's $40

This is my wiggle part:

It needs a cable. It's old

I'll happily throw it out for a new (better) one for security

I'm not exactly trying to cut any corners just maybe build it one part at a time

This is where I am at: https://pcpartpicker.com/list/7gWXCb

Ryzen 5 2600x processor, 6 core 3.6 GHz (8 cores was same speed +$100 IIRC? Not worth it?)

MSI B450 Tomahawk (Seemed decent middle of the road)

Corsair Vengeance LPX 16 GB (2 x 8 GB) DDR4-3200 Memory (is the 3200 worth it over the 3000? +$10, seemed fine?)

6 cores, 3.6 GHz, 16 gb ram.

This should blow my current lapytopy out of the water by my understanding?

The top 4 parts on the list are new, the bottom 4 are old

Is this framework decent enough to buy a new gpu in the future?