Going Back to Linux

-=HipKat=-

• Platinum VIP

I have a 500GB HDD doing nothing that had Ubuntu on it a few yrs ago and I want to reformat and install a new distro as a dual boot with my Win 10. So, I'm looking for ideas a on a distro that is not as bloated as Mint and Ubuntu have become, has inbred security features (Like Tails but don't need to be THAT secure) and is usable as a daily driver for someone who is only like 2 levels above Linux-noob.

• Like 2
  • Haha 1
  • 100 1

• Platinum VIP
5 hours ago, Crazyshot said:

Best Linux Distributions for Beginners

https://itsfoss.com/best-linux-beginners

Dude, I’m not a beginner and these are the exact ones I do not want

• Haha 1
  • Sad 1

• Platinum VIP
14 hours ago, Crazyshot said:

OpenSUSE looks interesting. Arch would be the best choice, but that IS over my head. I'd have to Google every command line to get it installed

• 2 weeks later...
  • 3 weeks later...
  • Platinum VIP

I think I've settled on Manjaro, after testing a bunch of Distros I think I'm going to use my test laptop to learn how to do a full install, line by line of full-blown Arch

56 minutes ago, LinP said:

I have tried Ubuntu but many problems with stability.

Debian is more stable :)

True. 

On 5/18/2020 at 5:44 PM, -=HipKat=- said:

has inbred security features 

Kali ? 

On 5/18/2020 at 5:44 PM, -=HipKat=- said:

don't need to be THAT secure

OK not Kali then 😄

I would propose. 

https://www.whonix.org/

Alternative:

https://www.qubes-os.org/

Qubes OS is not a Linux distro in a strict sense... 

"If you're serious about security, QubesOS is the best OS available today. It's what I use, and free. Nobody does VM isolation better." (E. Snowden)... Said few years ago, I dont know if he would say it today... But he said it... 

Edited by GHARIB
  • Like 2

• Platinum VIP
4 hours ago, GHARIB said:

True. 

Kali ? 

OK not Kali then 😄

I would propose. 

https://www.whonix.org/

Alternative:

https://www.qubes-os.org/