Simple C++ code examples.

Heretic121

I'm not sure about anyone else, but I prefer code examples when it comes to learning things. It allows me to learn at my own pace.

I've literally just typed this up, and it's my first attempt at C++. It works as intended.

#include <iostream>

void helloWorld () {
    std::cout << "Hello world!\n";
}

int main() {
    char answer = 0;

while( answer == 0 ) {
        helloWorld();
        std::cout << "Close this application?\n";
        std::cin >> answer;
        switch(answer){
            case ('y'):
                return 0;
                break;
            default:
                if ( answer != 0 ){
                    answer = 0;
                }
                break;
        }
    }
    return 0;
}

My school was rather insistant on using namespace std, but I think your method is perhaps better practice. I assume the idea was to utilize as many different features as possible, rather than the most logical code?

My school was rather insistant on using namespace std, but I think your method is perhaps better practice.

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/1452721/why-is-using-namespace-std-considered-bad-practice

I assume the idea was to utilize as many different features as possible, rather than the most logical code?

Spot on. However, I'm now questioning why I left that "return 0;" at the end :P

• Like 2

Yeah see Heretic chastised me yesterday for using "using namespace std" in my code. I'm glad I'm not  the only one. Too much etiquette with this coding stuff.

• Like 1

Yeah see Heretic chastised me yesterday for using "using namespace std" in my code. I'm glad I'm not  the only one. Too much etiquette with this coding stuff.

I didn't "chastise" you, I just said that you'd be better off statically referencing functions :P

It's not really etiquette, it's to help stop problems in the future.

• Like 2

So, is programming something you liked from the start, or as you got better, you began to like it?