Relatively low fps on a great comp

joy

Hi, I've been playing on FA sparingly throughout the past year, and since you have a very active community I'm wondering if anyone can find what may cause FPS slowdowns.

A bit about me: I've been playing for 5 years, code my own configs, and am/was familiar with the comp scene in both na (made twl beta finals during the deathtouch season) and eu (<3 acozz.).

Until past July I was playing on a trashy old P4 with a Geforce6600 GS (not GT), and was generally able to hold the 76 fps. In july, I upgraded to:

AMD X3 720

4gb Mushkin DDR 3 @ 1600

HIS HD4870 512mb using Catalyst 8.12

Gigabyte UD3 Mobo

Win XP32 (using which loses 800mb of ram)

I don't run a lot of stuff in the bground - usually just an antivirus (currently ESET, used to be AVG) and keyboard/sound software. Disabling the antivirus has virtually no effect.

This computer runs Fallout3 and the Call of Duty games at about 60-70 fps at high detail (no AA, 1200x1024). Here's the kicker. Those FPS are higher than what I get in ET. I can't hold 76, let alone 125. I've tried extreme opposites of configs, for ex picmap3, gl_nearest_mipmap_near, r_mode 4, r_mapoverbrightbits 3 vs. picmap1 / gl_linear/ r_mode 8.

I've tried setting ET to use only 1 core. I've done about 3 clean installs of Windows so far.

I know the pb takes a huge hit on ET performance, and Radeon 4xxx series cards have trashy opengl support. But can it possibly have such a huge impact?

Does anyone have a similar set up and experiences the same problems? If you need more info, please ask.

I'd be forever grateful if anyone has an idea. Thanks.

• Administrators

Enable lagometer and post the screenshots. With help of lagometer I might be able to help.

It is also highly possible that when you set the affinity and if another process/task is carried on same core it effects the performance.