Building my first pc (eventually)

ronaldounit0

So the laptop I'm currently playing games on is starting to fail me (the graphics card is probably overheating and since it's integrated I'd rather not get an entirely new board for the graphics quality I get now) and I'm looking to get a low-level gaming pc. Since I am currently a college student with no job, I have a very low budget of around $500. 

I am a COMPLETE newbie with this sort of stuff, so any help is appreciated! I can run CoD4, Skyrim, and Fallout New Vegas on low settings currently, so I'd like to be able to play these with medium settings reliably (no graphics card overheating.....) with my future pc build. 

Bottom line is, what components can I get for around $500, and is there anything I should know before diving into my first build?

Thank you very much in advance for the help! Let me know if I left anything out that you need to know.  :thanks

EDIT: Ideally I'd like to have 8 or so gigs of RAM because I will be using it a bit for school as well.

go for this:

http://www.amazon.com/CyberpowerPC-Gamer-Ultra-GUA880-Desktop/dp/B0089KDCIU/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1395858261&sr=8-1&keywords=gaming+pc

amkes it easy, not too expensive, not the best parts, but pretty good for what you are planing to do!

i'll check some selfmade parts tomorrow and let you know!

would be great to know where exactly you live - so i dont have to mess around with different currrencies!

Edited by Jacker
  • Like 1

lol... i just read thru the amazon page....

this is ridicoulous.... in germany you would pay at least 450 euros for stuff like that (even tho it's not the real shit) - and thats around 620 dollar.... cant take the differences...

as said before, i'll try to get the best parts to combine for around 500 bucks...

do u need anything else? display, keyboard, mouse, etc?

This one should do fine: http://secure.newegg.com/Shopping/ShoppingCart.aspx?Submit=view for 514$ with NO DVD-drive NOR Windows.