Graphics Cards while playing ET

HaLLoWeeN

• Platinum VIP

Hi ET players... Just curious question. 

I am no PC Tech freak by any means but i try to learn new things along the way.

My question: Does anyone use NVDIA RTX graphics cards? Does the RTX (Ray Tracing) feature alter the way ET displays?

That's all i wanted to ask.

Hope it's not a corny question... but like i said.. im still learning about this PC tech world.

Thank you.

seeings this came out in 2018 ..  an et   2003 ..  i  would bet et .doesnt use it. at all.an most just turn it off . ill check it out for yea on my sons pc he has it i dont.ima guess it would mess with fps.

• Like 3

If you are interested in this, you can ask around on this site https://www.moddb.com/games/wolfenstein-enemy-territory But I’m not sure that this is implemented in ET In my opinion, even in the global Real RTCW 4.0 mod, RTX support was not added.

• Like 1
  • 100 1

ET for sure and Legacy afaik doesn't support RT.
Simply said, having a RTX card doesn't affect your performance with ET when it comes to RT itself.
It'll work the same way as any other GTX- or graphic card.

RT is mainly used in newer games (since it was published in Sep. 2018) as mentioned before, to enhance the realism of light traces and shadows.
It's mainly just an graphic setting that the game itself needs to support for it to have an effect.
Also it's very GPU heavy setting so lower tier early RTX cards (for example 3050 & 2060's) might still struggle to run games with it unless using DLSS or lower resolutions and graphic settings.

It's probably possible to mod into ETL down the line but I suppose it's more likely to get a full remaster of the game before seeing RT in ET.

• Like 1
  • 100 2

11 hours ago, HaLLoWeeN said:

My question: Does anyone use NVDIA RTX graphics cards? Does the RTX (Ray Tracing) feature alter the way ET displays?

Hope it's not a corny question... but like i said.. im still learning about this PC tech world.

Thank you.