ET lagging, could these PC changes be the reason?

Fresh

Hi guys,

I play ET a lot mostly on HC server and I am getting so much lag now it is unplayable on the HC server with 24 active players.  Before it was not a problem.

The recent changes to my PC are:

- Installed Epic Game Launcher and Fortnite

- Upgrade AMD graphics driver because of warning from Fortnite.  Used the automated upgrade software from https://support.amd.com/en-us/download.

My internet connection is 25 Mbps or so over a Wifi connection and my ping shows at about 15 in the ET game so I don't think that is the problem.

I have not changed anything in my ET config since I started playing the game 15 years ago so it is probably default.

I am running a Windows 7 desktop, AMD Phenom II X4 830 processor, 64 bit at 2.80 Ghz with 8GB RAM.  My graphics card is an AMD Radeon HD 5570.  It is a 10 yr old machine but should be OK running ET :)

Any advice would help, thanks.

Graphics drivers would be most likely the issue, if that's the last thing that got changed. I know off the top of my head that the 5xxx series cards are on legacy support, and you likely had two options, an old version of Catalyst and a beta version of Crimson.The last version of Catalyst more than likely would work well with that card, unsure about Crimson. As for what would be compatible with Fortnite... most likely Crimson.
I know I ran into issues with a 4xxx series card with Catalyst v13, and had to downgrade and wait for a newer driver.

I'd follow the tutorial I wrote for using DDU to do a clean graphics driver installation: https://fearless-assassins.com/tutorials/article/449-how-to-use-ddu/

Don't use the automated installation utility, download the entire driver installation binary. If you want a Fortnite compatible driver, Crimson may be the way to go, but don't be surprised if you run into bugs, it's an "as-is" courtesy driver. Here are direct download links:

Official AMD Crimson Beta for Legacy Cards