D-Link routers have browser accessable backdoor- check now!

Xernicus

Today, I received a very disturbing email in my inbox from Sophos. As an IT Project manager, I feel the need to be up to date on all known vulnerabilities for my customers- and for myself. And unfortunately for those who are non-believers, Sophos is the world's leading firm in IT security- so I'm pretty sure that your cocky attitude on how you waste 80 bucks a year on AntiVirus and Firewall software is about to kick you in the a**.

These models below are affected, and the administration panel can easily hacked into- just by changing the user string that your browser sends. The user string, as some people know it, is the clumsy and slow way that web browsers tell servers how to display the information. That's why you get mobile sites on your smartphone, Internet Explorer 8 and below displays pages horribly, and how YouTube knows you need a flash update. And that silly little thing could allow someone to steal all of your information.

Here are the known hackable D-Link routers (there's probably more, it's like cockroaches)

• DIR-100
  • DI-524
  • DI-524UP
  • DI-604S
  • DI-604UP
  • DI-604+
  • TM-G5240

For those of you interested in the "backdoor" look at how this backdoor was found, here ya go: http://www.devttys0.com/2013/10/reverse-engineering-a-d-link-backdoor/

Remember these big tips:
WPS is bad, bad, bad.
UPnP can make life easier, it can cost you a fortune.
If your router doesn't support WPA2, buy a new one.
MAC Address Filtering does nothing but deter wannabe hackers.
Ever heard of packet sniffing? Perhaps it's time to use a VPN depending on the work you do, and where you do it.

Good luck everyone, and stay safe. Remember, don't click on those pop-up ads. ;)

• Like 3

What are your thoughts on guest networks?