Need: Cheap laptop for student daughter

soulJAHmon

What about something like this: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16834310733

I'm trying to find a decent cheap laptop for my daughter. She's a 12 year old, who's doing "running start" at the local community college. She will be doing papers, etc., surfing, watching u-tube, emailing , and not alot more.

My budget is only 200-250 dollars.

This deal (above) looks like the most bang I can find for my buck. Anybody got any better ideas? or advice? or maybe reviews on which models/brands/etc are more solid in old laptops.

Noone in my family has ever had one yet, so I'm new to laptops entirely.

Well, I don't expect too many problems with that laptop.

ALTHOUGH I don't like refurbished stuff to start with, the thinkpads are know to be strong laptops.

Things you can do to improve him:

- adding larger hdd or even a ssd (probably cheapo ssd sata 3 inferface will do the trick)

- Changing the ram from 2gb to 4gb (you need ddr2 sodimm ram stick for that => looked up the manual :P)

- Put windows 7/8 on it (should run it fine normally)

Now I'm thinking of it, I think we have a T61 here :).

That one is slow as hell though (more due to bullshit business rules of my stepdad work => work laptop of him)

=> let me check if it's the same (in a couple of hours, now in bed XD)

Can't think of an alternative though for that price, somebody else might :P