Death of a HP, any chance I can fix this cheaply?!

Phil-O

Heya,

Unfortunately I'm not much of a computer geek. My HP Pavilion dv6-DB55SG (i7-2670QM, Radeon HD 6770M) has troubled me with its incredibly noisy fan and heat emission since I bought it, but I never really did anything to change that. It also had some driver issues because HP was being lazy, so I got a few blue screens from time to time but they stopped at some point. All in all, I just got used to it and tried cleaning the dust out best as I could. It was far from perfect, but OK given I only spent 670€ on it. Now, 3,5 year later, it refuses to boot.

I am currently looking at buying something new that's much better emission-wise, but not strictly a business laptop since I need a GPU that can play ET and some other games (not the newest), and that could go a relatively long way. However that means spending around 1250€, and since I'm a poor endebted student who just decided to get married next year, the money's kinda tight. So before I spend it, I wanna make sure I can't get the HP to work for another year or so.

What happens now:

- The screen just goes dark during the boot, and after a few minutes there's a blue screen for just a split second before he laptop switches off (and automatically on again). Best I could do was get to log on in my windows user account but then it froze before it was entirely done loading the desktop, I had to manually switch it off because nothing happend anymore.

- It DOES boot in the safe mode, and I could salvage all my data. However it DOES NOT boot when I select safe mode with network drivers.

What had happened before:

About 3 months ago I spilled some beer on the keyboard, the keyboard stopped working. I bought one on ebay and replaced it, cleaning everything up well. I don't think it was much of a spill, but of course I can't say whether it affected other hardware components.