computer science experience

krAzy :)

didnt really know where to put it, so i just added it here, where the real computer geniuses are

i thought about taking a new path of my life: study computer science at university

i finished science high school and right now im studying economics and management, put im not really sure if its the 'right' way to choose

i just want to know some/ANY useful information if anyone of u studied computer science or has any type of work related to that

my subjects would be:

1.year: algebra and geometry; algorithm; basic math; physics; basic programming; english

2.year: numeric calculation; basic computer science; different types of coding; operating systems

3.year: software engineering; logic;

there are some other subjects i dont really know how to translate and other subjects u can personally choose (but didnt found them on university website)

first question which comes to my mind: why so much math?

any information about work experience (is it boring? good pay? difficult to find work? what u have to do? . . .

difficult to study? (yes, i also think thats a stupid question, if u like a subject u 'enjoy' studying it)

thx in advance :lol:

The focus on math might be tied to the fact that you need a strong base in logic for most programming. A lot of math problems require a logical approach. I'm going for a degree in computer engineering, so there would be some differences from a computer science curriculum. But for example, this semester I am taking Discrete Mathematics which is basically nothing but logic and is filled with computer science students.

I think I can get away with saying computers "think" in "math", and so you have to be able to as well. :)