Windows Looking at an Elgato HD60 Pro for streaming

JaxonAshton

My current system (AMD-based CPU with GTX 1060 6 GB GPU) has much difficulty reliably streaming to Twitch when I play shooters/BR (Sandstorm, Squad, PUBG, etc), most noticeably with low in-game framerates. I'm a bit new to streaming and would like to do what I can to improve the reliability and quality of my stream without impacting FPS.

To solve this, I am considering adding an Elgato HD60 Pro to handle the H.264 encoding and lightening that load away from my GPU. The hope is that I can record or stream live to Twitch without impacting my in-game FPS and still provide a high-quality stream. I'm also planning some budget upgrades to my existing rig (of note, FX-8350 CPU and 1070 GPU) and I'm hoping these changes will help improve things on a tight budget.

Very much open to ideas from the community about the best way to handle this.

• Like 2

Hey there Falc0n2k!

I don't know about your setup but if you have a free HDMI output from your computer, you could send your signal out to another computer. The elgato is basically an HDMI input via usb. Very great device that I used for streaming events on FB.

So if you have another computer on which you could send your signal and do your streaming, the elgato is perfect. If you don't, then it will be useless to have it. 

Another thing to keep in mind is to make sure your streaming computer is wired to the internet, wireless would be risky to not have a steady stream.

Also, which software did you use to stream?

Thanks for the reply @w1cx. Unfortuantely, I don't have another computer to stream to, but I have heard of folks doing a HDMI loopback using a HDMI cable connected from the output of the GPU to the input of the Elgato. Seems anecdotal though, since this doesn't appear to be a best practice.