A serious word about cigarettes you may not know...

Ol Smoke

I worked in the medical field for over 20 years and I took a lot of xrays, CT's and MRI's in my time.  I went to a lot of medical meetings.

Here is something I picked up from a doctor at the Mayo Clinic one time.

More people who smoke cigarettes die from heart disease than from cancer.  The reason:   filtered cigarettes.

Most people believe that if you put a filter on the end of a cigarette it is helping cut down on the bad things you inhale.

Not true.

The more you filter tobacco smoke, the higher the carbon dioxide levels go.  It is carbon dioxide that produces heart failure in smokers.

If you want to continue to smoke, then trim that filter down to about 1/8".  This will keep the tobacco from getting into your mouth, but

it won't raise the CO2 .  That is why most of the GI's who came home from WWII never got that sick from smoking.  Most smoked unfiltered

cigs all their life.  Yeah they got other things from smoking, but mostly cancer or something.

Here is another thing to remember.  Smoking a pipe or cigar rarely ever gives anyone cancer or heart problems.  The reason cigs are so bad

is because of the chemical they spray on it, to keep it burning.  Cigar smokers usually get lip cancer.  Just like dippers.

So, if you smoke cigs, just heed my advice.  Get rid of that filter.

If you want to switch to unfiltered cigarettes, then cut them in half.  You really only need about 3 puffs to satisfy the addiction.  

My dad smoked unfiltered Camels since he was 12 years old.  He died at 78.  Not from smoking, but from a brain aneurysm.  His lungs were perfectly fine

and so was his heart.  The aneurysm was formed from an injury he had to the front of his brain when he was in the war.

Just FYI

Edited by Ol' Smoke
  • Like 4

On top of this, all smokers will know that filters start to melt when you get down to half way - meaning you're also inhaling plastic fumes.