Student Loans

PHANTASM

Interesting Story...

When I graduated from college in 1992 (yeah I'm old) I had $18,500 in student loans and credit card debt. After college I moved with my grandparents (my parents live in a remote area) and worked like a lunatic at several low-wage jobs in St. Louis for a year until I landed a decent job.

It paid $36,000 a year and had full medical benefits (entirely paid by the company) and it had a company-matched IRA. This was normal in the 1990s.

I worked there for three years and paid off my entire student loan and credit card debt. I also got an apartment ($230 a month for a one bedroom place by the city), and a decent used car ($1300). I shopped at Aldis (a discount store in the US and Europe) with a weekly budget of $40 a week for food. By 1996 I was investing surplus income in the stock market, and by 2000 I had bought my first house, a three-bedroom, finished basement, two-car garage, ranch-style house on a lake, for $85,900.

In 2009 I got laid off and was out of work for an entire year.

I got a new job in February of this year. It was 40 miles away on the other side of the city. It took me 1 1/2 hours to get there each way. The pay was low, and there were no benefits. My coworkers were utter morons (smart people quit this place).

A month ago I finally found a decent job and now things are back to "normal" - I am making $18 an hour. No benefits of course, but it is only a twenty minute drive and it is in my field.

I realized that I am making the same amount I made back in 1993, only with no health insurance.

I miss the 20th century.

• Administrators