Japanese Japanese translations

• Clan Friend

konnichiwa :P

Well, I was wondering, maybe someone is interested in learning Japanese?

I am a beginner, and this thread won't make sense unless some other nub like me joins, and someone who is good or native is willing to correct our mistakes (onegai! :D)

anyway, I thought it would be interesting to do something like this:

- we post a - short, and possibly not too much advanced - text (from a song, anime dialogue, anything you want) and we try to translate it.

Not just translate, though, we should try to explain what is what, and why the translation is such and such, like a sort of text analysis. That's why I said short text, otherwise it would get too long. If someone who knows better finds mistakes, they can point them out.

I'm afraid we need to use romaji (i.e. Latin characters). I know it's terrible, and it's not real Japanese but I noticed a sort of bug, sometimes I posted words in Japanese just for fun and after a while, coming back to that page, it was all messy and unreadable (unicode or similar encoding problems in the forums?)

And also not everyone knows a lot or kanji, some beginners might not be able to read even hiragana or katakana scripts. Maybe we can add 2 lines, jp + reading below.

Anyway, that's my idea, hopefully someone is interested...

suggestions are welcome, and also if some total beginner needs advice on how to start learning I can help (who cannot do teaches, as they say ^^)

以上 [いじょう - ijou]... that's all for now

• Like 2

• Leader

I'll start this with short sentence from my fav anime "eru, shiteiru ka? shinigami wa ringo shika tabenai"

Testing Sunlight's Unicode problem here with a copy & paste:

What is the alliteration of this phrase in japanese? 
死の神がりんごだけを食べることをL、知っているか。 
I know it means this : L did you know that the death god only eats apples?

https://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20100408140558AAlyjv2

Testing quotes, also Death Note? xD

• Clan Friend