ET disconnects me from the Internet

Being

Hello,

I have been playing ET online for several years but just recently I can only play for a few minutes and then my connection is broken. I'm not just disconnected from which ever server I was connected to, my internet connection is broken too.

Interestingly, I also have a laptop connected to the same LAN and when my desktop connection breaks the laptop's internet connection is fine. The problem is definitely local to my desktop computer. I'm running Win XP Home SP3. I had thought my ISP was messing about but I think I can rule that out. I can only get my internet connection back by rebooting.

I have run various anti-virus/malware progs. and my system is clean. The same thing happens when Zone Alarm and SpyBot S&D are shut down. I don't use Windows' Firewall.

I have reinstalled and updated PB and run pbsvc but neither made any difference. I have run Process Explorer at the same time as ET (windowed) in the hope that I could spot which process cuts the connection but it didn't reveal anything. Some sort of process logger would probably show what's going on but I can't find one, any suggestions?

Has anyone got any idea what's happening please?

Thanks in advance.

• Administrators

Update router firmware, go to router manufacturers website download latest firmware and follow instructions on how to upgraded it. In my case my router did same exact thing, but my router had an option to auto upgrade and I found that latest firmware was the problem and would drop connection to my desktop after 10 min, laptop was fine, I had to downgrade and disable auto update. Also depending on your router make and model there are modified firmwares out there that get the best out of your router but I dont suggest you use that unless you know what you are doing.